WINNEBAGO COUNTY COMMUNITY MENTAL HEALTH BOARD AGENDA DATE: Wednesday April 7th, 2021

Time: 2:00 PM

Location: Region 1 Planning Council, 127 N Wyman Street, 1st Floor, Rockford, IL 61101 or virtual at Winnebago County Community Mental Health Board YouTube Page

NOTICE: Consistent with State of Illinois Executive Order 2020-07 to prevent the spread of COVID-19, Committee Members are permitted to participate in this meeting by conference call.

Called by: Mary Ann Abate President

Members: Richard Kunnert Vice President, Rev. Dr. K. Edward Copeland Treasurer, Danielle Angileri Secretary, Dr. Bill Gorski, Dr Terry Giardini, Dr. Julie Morris, Tim Nabors, Linda Sandquist

Advisory Members: Wendy Larson Bennett, Jay Ware

Staff Liaison: Jason Holcomb, Region 1 Planning Council

Agenda:

A. Call to Order at 2:00pm by Mary Ann Abate

B. Roll call. Present: Mary Ann Abate, Richard Kunnert, Rev. Dr. Edward Copeland, Danielle Angileri, Dr. Julie Morris, Dr. Bill Gorski, Tim Nabors, Wendy Larson Bennet, Jay Ware and Jason Holcomb

Dr. Terry Giardini joined the meeting at 2:08pm.

C. Public Comment: None

D. Action Items

- Meeting Minutes (03/03/21): Mr. Kunnert moved to approve the meeting minutes from March 3, 2021, _____ moved second. Mary Ann Abate: Approve, Richard Kunnert: Approve, Rev. Dr. K. Edward Copeland: Approve; Danielle Angileri: Approve; Dr. Bill Gorski: Approve; Dr. Terry Giardini: Absent; Dr. Julie Morris: Approve; Tim Nabors: Approve; Linda Sandquist: Absent. Motion passes.
- 2. Proposed Language for SB2278:
 - a. 55 ILCS 5/5-1006.5
 - b. If a tax is imposed for mental health purposes, then a community mental health board shall be established pursuant to the Community Mental Health Act (405 ILCS 20/) to authorize the disbursement of funds unless a mental health board has already been established through resolution by the board of the county who imposes the tax, in which case the existing mental health board will authorize the disbursement of funds and operate in accordance with the Community Mental Health Act (405 ILCS 20/).
 - c. Mary Ann Abate: Yes; Richard Kunnert: Yes, Rev. Dr. K. Edward Copeland: Yes; Danielle Angileri: Yes; Dr. Bill Gorski: Yes; Dr. Terry Giardini: Yes; Dr. Julie Morris: Yes; Tim Nabors: Yes; Linda Sandquist: Absent. Motion passes.
- 3. Proposed Language for County Board Ordinance
 - a. 55 ILCS 5/5-1006.5

If a tax is imposed for mental health purposes, then a community mental health board shall be established pursuant to the Community Mental Health Act (405 ILCS 20/) to authorize the disbursement of funds unless a mental health board has already been established through resolution by the board of the county who imposes the tax, in which case the existing mental health board will authorize the disbursement of funds and operate in accordance with the Community Mental Health Act (405 ILCS 20/).

- b. Kunnert moves, Dr. Morris seconds.
- c. Richard Kunnert: Yes, Rev. Dr. K. Edward Copeland: Yes; Danielle Angileri: Yes; Dr. Bill Gorski: Yes; Dr. Terry Giardini: Yes; Dr. Julie Morris: Yes; Tim Nabors: Yes; Linda Sandquist: Absent. Motion passes.

Grant Schedule Update: Updates have been made because board members who have done evaluations need more discussion on applications. New schedule is as follows:

Application Evaluation Period	February 24, 2021 – April 14, 2021	February 24, 2021 - May 5, 2021
Evaluator Meetings to Develop Recommendations Packet	N/A	April 12, 2021 - April 16, 2021
Non-Evaluator Board Member Meetings to Review Packet	N/A	April 19, 2021 - April 23, 2021
Evaluator Meetings to Finalize Recommendation Packets	N/A	April 26, 2021 - April 30, 2021
Board Meeting & Discussion	April 7, 2021, 2 PM	May 5, 2021
Board Vote	April 14, 2021, 1:30 PM	May 5, 2021
Funding Agreements Signed	April 14 – April 30, 2021	May 6, 2021 - May 28, 2021
Award Announcements	May 3, 2021	May 6, 2021
Program Year/Funding Cycle	June 1, 2021 - May 30, 2022	Unchanged

Quarterly Reporting Deadlines	September 30, 2021; December 31, 2021; March 31, 2022; June 30, 2022	Unchanged
----------------------------------	---	-----------

Dr. Gorski moves to approve the new schedule, Dr. Giardini motions second. Mary Ann Abate: Yes; Richard Kunnert: Yes, Rev. Dr. K. Edward Copeland: Yes; Danielle Angileri: Yes; Dr. Bill Gorski: Yes; Dr. Terry Giardini: Yes; Dr. Julie Morris: Yes; Tim Nabors: Yes; Linda Sandquist: Absent. Motion passes.

4. FOIA Officer: Dr. Julie Morris announced her resignation on the WCCMB. Tim Nabors offered to be the new FOIA officer.

E. Discussion Items

- 1. Public Officials Act: Encouraged to read the attached documents that were given to us by our legal counsel. If there are any situations a board member is concerned of, please let Jason know so that we can get advice. (Mrs. Angileri has to leave the meeting at 2:35PM)
- 2. Work Plans & Affidavits Templates: Jason has researched other mental health boards and created a draft work plan for us. We will be creating work plans for all organizations that will receive funds highlighting basic components of our priorities and target populations. WCCMHB will be able to establish special conditions in this work plan. There is an opportunity to list specific outcome program reports here as well. Affidavits will be given to organization prior to quarterly payment sessions to express in writing that they are still providing the services that they agreed upon.
- F. Other Matters: Process for addition of a new board member to take Dr. Morris' place. Invitation to current board members to brainstorm individuals in the community that they know who have mental health and substance abuse experience so we could recommend a list to the Winnebago County Board Chairman. The individual would have to represent the same segment of the system that Dr. Morris represents. Candidate issues are a topic the group will have to research deeper as to not blur lines.
- G. Adjournment motion by Mr. Kunnert and Mr. Nabors seconds the motion at 2:49PM. Mary Ann Abate: Yes; Richard Kunnert: Yes, Rev. Dr. K. Edward Copeland: Yes; Danielle Angileri: Absent; Dr. Bill Gorski: Yes; Dr. Terry Giardini: Yes; Dr. Julie Morris: Yes; Tim Nabors: Yes; Linda Sandquist: Absent. Motion passes.