

Winnebago County Community Mental Health Board Minutes

Date: Wednesday, November 2nd, 2022

Time: 2:00 PM CST

Location: Region 1 Planning Council, 127 N Wyman Street, 2nd Floor, Rockford, IL 61101 or virtual at *Winnebago County Community Mental Health Board YouTube Page*

Called by: Mary Ann Abate: President

Members: Richard Kunnert: Vice President, Dr. Bill Gorski: Secretary, Wendy Larson-Bennett: Treasurer,

Rev. Dr. K. Edward Copeland, Dr. Terry Giardini, Tim Nabors, Linda Sandquist

Director: Jason Holcomb, Region 1 Planning Council

Agenda:

A. Call to Order: President Mary Ann Abate called the meeting to order at 2:00 PM

B. Roll Call

Mary Ann Abate: Present

Dr. K. Edward Copeland: Absent

• Dr. Terry Giardini: Present

• Dr. Bill Gorski: Present

• Richard Kunnert: Present

Wendy Larson-Bennett: Present

Tim Nabors: Absent at Roll Call, Arrived at 2:20 PM

Linda Sandquist: AbsentJason Holcomb: Present

Guests:

• Nicole Bennett: Region 1 Planning Council

• Chris Nichols, Jason Relle, Christi Wilson, Brianna Brauer: Rosecrance

• Nate Kohanyi: Rockford Police Department

• Chad Palmer: Loves Park Police Department

• Tiffany Eisman, Shelly Turner: Winnebago County Sherriff's Office











Winnebago County Community Mental Health Board Minutes 11/2/22



C. Public Comment

1. No Public Comment

D. Presentations

1. City of Rockford — Crisis Co-Response Team

- i. Presenters: Led by Chris Nichols, M.S. MHP CADC Team Lead: Rosecrance with Jason Relle, Christi Wilson, Brianna Brauer: Rosecrance; Nate Kohanyi: Rockford Police Department; Chad Palmer: Loves Park Police Department; Tiffany Eisman, Shelly Turner: Winnebago County Sherriff's Office
- ii. Notes: Mr. Nichols gave the presentation on the Crisis Co-Responder Team, going over the team members, mission statement, history, goals, approach, data, collaboration with the Mobile Integrated Health program, successes, and Resource Guide.
- iii. Board asked questions that the CCRT Team answered.

E. Monthly Activity Report - October 2022

- 1. Jason Holcomb, WCCMHB Director, gave the October 2022 Activity Report.
 - i. Notes: Mr. Holcomb highlighted three important activities, one aligned with the Communications strategy and two with the Systems Coordination strategies.
 - ii. The first meeting of the Communications Working Group happened. The group's goal is to present a Project Charter in January that outlines foundational objectives and goals, timelines, and if there are any additional requests.
 - iii. Partnering with the Workforce Board, which established a Mental Health Career Pathways Committee. We will host a meeting in January to identify the quick-wintype strategies, immediate things being implemented, and long-term strategies.
 - iv. Working with the Youth Mental Health System of Care Collaborative and their IRIS referral system as a neutral party data administrator. There is a discussion to help facilitate and encourage the funded programs to implement using the IRIS system, and we will likely have that meeting in December.
 - v. Ms. Abate shared that we won the Advocate of the Year from RAMP, and the ceremony talked about all the work that is possible due to the Mental Health Board funding. The NAMI Rally that Jason spoke at had other organizations that the Board supports. Ms. Abate wanted to highlight that the funding is impacting the community more than we realize.
 - vi. Dr. Gorski would like the presenters to state how much money they receive from the Board, with the money, they are able to do this, without they wouldn't be able to do this. Not all will be 100% funding from the Board, so getting that distinction would be appreciated.

Winnebago County Community Mental Health Board Minutes 11/2/22



F. Action Items

1. October 2022 Meeting Minutes

Motion: To approve the October 2022 Meeting Minutes.

i. Raised by: Dr. Gorski

ii. Seconded by: Mr. Nabors

iii. Discussion: None

a. Motion **approved** by a unanimous vote of all Board Members present.

b. Absent Board Members: Dr. Copeland, Ms. Sandquist

2. Authorization to Renew Director's and Officer's Insurance

Motion: To authorize the renewal of the Director's and Officer's Insurance in full.

i. Raised by: Mr. Kunnert Dr. Gorski

ii. Seconded by: Dr. Gorski

- iii. Discussion: Mr. Holcomb presented the information about the type of coverage based on the type of insurance and how they were procured. The estimation of insurance increases was standardized from last year, but the increased funding amount and inflation caused a much higher increase, and if all were renewed, it would be over budget by \$4,174.25. The first option is re-shopping the prices. The second option is authorizing in full. The third option is to finance the policy, but there would likely have a finance charge. The Board discussed considerations of various situations and what kind of insurance it would be, but it is not distinct on what they would be considered. It was proposed that it would be best to have them all renewed for maximum coverage.
 - a. Motion **approved** by a roll call vote.

• Dr. K. Edward Copeland: Absent

• Dr. Terry Giardini: Aye

Dr. Bill Gorski: Aye

• Richard Kunnert: Aye

Wendy Larson-Bennett: Aye

• Tim Nabors: Aye

Linda Sandquist: Absent

Mary Ann Abate: Aye

Winnebago County Community Mental Health Board Minutes 11/2/22



3. Authorization to Renew Professional Liability Insurance

Motion: To authorize the renewal of the Professional Liability Insurance in full.

- i. Raised by: Ms. Larson-Bennett
- ii. Seconded by: Mr. Nabors
- iii. Discussion: Mr. Holcomb will still ask the agent to shop the prices for all the insurances. If a cheaper price for the same type of coverage is found, Mr. Holcomb will bring it back to the Board.
 - a. Motion **approved** by a unanimous vote of all Board Members present.
 - b. Absent Board Members: Dr. Copeland, Ms. Sandquist

G. Discussion Items

1. No Discussion Items

H. Other Matters

No Other Matters

I. Adjournment

- 1. Motion: For Adjournment was carried. Adjourned at 3:15 PM
 - i. Raised by: Mr. Kunnert
 - ii. Seconded by: Mr. Nabors
 - a. Motion **approved** by a unanimous vote of all Board Members present.
 - b. Absent Board Members: Dr. Copeland, Ms. Sandquist