

Winnebago County Community Mental Health Board Minutes

Date: Wednesday, June 1st, 2022 Time: 2:00 PM CST

Location: Region 1 Planning Council, 127 N Wyman Street, 2nd Floor, Rockford, IL 61101 or virtual at <u>Winnebago County Community Mental Health Board YouTube Page</u>

Called by: Mary Ann Abate: President

Members: Richard Kunnert: Vice President, Rev. Dr. K. Edward Copeland: Treasurer, Dr. Bill Gorski: Secretary, Dr. Terry Giardini, Tim Nabors, Linda Sandquist, Wendy Larson-Bennett

Advisory Members: Jeanette Towns

Director: Jason Holcomb, Region 1 Planning Council

Agenda:

- A. Call to Order: President Mary Ann Abate called the meeting to order at 2:00 PM
- B. Roll Call
 - Mary Ann Abate: Present
 - Richard Kunnert: Present
 - Dr. K. Edward Copeland: Present
 - Dr. Bill Gorski: Present
 - Dr. Terry Giardini: Present
 - Tim Nabors: Absent
 - Linda Sandquist: Present
 - Wendy Larson-Bennett: Present
 - Jay Ware: Present
 - Jeanette Towns: Present/Video
 - Jason Holcomb: Present
 - Guests: Chelsey Glatz, Region 1 Planning Council



www.r1planning.org/wccmhb | info@mentalhealth.wincoil.us



Winnebago County Community Mental Health Board Minutes 06/01/22



Winnebago County Community Mental Health Board

C. Public Comment

1. No Public Comment

D. Presentations

1. No Presentation

E. Monthly Activity Report

- 1. Jason Holcomb, WCCMHB Director, gave the May 2022 Activity Report.
 - i. Notes: May was Mental Health Awareness month. We participated in many community presentations and the Mental Health Expo.

F. Action Items

1. May 2022 Meeting Minutes

Motion: To approve the May 2022 Meeting Minutes.

- i. Raised by: Ms. Larson-Bennett
- ii. Seconded by: Mr. Kunnert
 - a. Motion approved by a unanimous vote of all Board Members present.
 - b. Absent Board Members: Tim Nabors
- iii. Discussion: None

2. Election of Officers

1. The Term for July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2023.

Mary Ann opened the floor for nominations.

- i. Dr. Giardini nominates Mary Ann Abate for President.
 - The nominee of Mary Ann Abate for President is elected by unanimous consent.
- ii. Dr. Gorski nominates Richard Kunnert for Vice President.
 - The nominee of Richard Kunnert for Vice President is elected by unanimous consent.
- iii. Dr. Giardini nominates Dr. Gorski for Secretary.
 - The nominee of Dr. Gorski for Secretary is elected by unanimous consent.
- iv. Dr. Copeland nominates Wendy Larson-Bennett for Treasurer.
 - The nominee of Wendy Larson-Bennett for Treasurer is elected by unanimous consent.

Winnebago County Community Mental Health Board Minutes 06/01/22



Winnebago County Community Mental Health Board

G. Discussion Items

1. July 2022 Board Meeting

i. Notes: Keeping meeting normal date and time regardless of the holiday.

H. Other Matters

1. Program Announcements

i. Notes: The Board would like to do an announcement similar to last year at Memorial Hall.

2. Jeanette Towns Community Engagement

 Notes: Jeanette is working on writing a second book. She is involved with the Mental Health Ministry at a local church as a facilitator. She is a part of NAMI's Faith Net where she goes into churches to tell her story about her lived experience. She also does seminars online.

I. Adjournment

- 1. <u>Motion:</u> For Adjournment was carried. Adjourned at 2:15 PM
 - i. Raised by: Mr. Kunnert
 - ii. Seconded by: Dr. Gorski
 - a. Motion approved by a unanimous vote of all Board Members present.
 - b. Absent Board Members: Tim Nabors